The controlled facial trials of topical exosomes repeated the procedure and application three times, three weeks apart after fractional CO2 laser and after microneedling, and four weeks apart after radiofrequency microneedling [3, 4, 5]. No controlled trial located for this article used a weekly schedule, and the 2026 reviews describe the protocols across the field as nonstandardized [1, 2].
Each study’s session spacing is listed below, along with the reason the interval tracks the procedure that precedes the application and what the reviews say about maintenance. Patients and the staff who field their questions can read every interval against its source. ExaVeyra Sciences supplies exosome material to licensed practices; the schedule for any patient is the practitioner’s decision.
Regulatory status
The FDA stated in its 2019 public safety notification that there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products [18]. ExaVeyra supplies exosome material for topical aesthetic use by licensed practitioners, and for laboratory research and clinical research conducted under an IND, described by its available formats. The FDA microneedling page states that the devices are not approved for delivering cosmetics, topical medications, drugs or blood products into the skin [19]. How often a patient receives any procedure, and whether exosome material follows it, is a decision for the licensed practitioner.
Understanding session frequency as a feature of each trial design
Every interval in this article is a choice the investigators made before enrolling the first participant, so the literature answers how often the material was applied in each study. Stack and colleagues pooled 39 human studies in 2026 and wrote that heterogeneity and nonstandardized protocols limit how far their findings generalize [1].
Gaebe and colleagues reviewed 16 facial studies with 503 participants in the same year and reported no serious adverse events, while rating the certainty of evidence low or very low and concluding that short follow-up precludes definitive conclusions [2]. Neither review identifies a tested frequency that outperformed another, because no trial compared one interval against another.
The useful reading is therefore descriptive. The next section lists the interval each controlled trial used, and the sections that follow explain where those intervals come from.
Published trials repeated sessions at three- to four-week intervals
Kwon and colleagues ran three fractional CO2 laser sessions three weeks apart in 25 adults with acne scars in 2020, with an exosome gel on one side after each session, and reported a 32.5 percent scar-score reduction on that side against 19.9 percent at 12 weeks [3]. Park GH and colleagues used the same three-week spacing for three microneedling sessions in 28 adults in 2023 and reported a higher aesthetic score on the exosome side at the final visit with no serious adverse events [4].
Estupiñan and colleagues spaced three radiofrequency microneedling sessions four weeks apart in 15 adults with photoaging in 2025, with topical exosomes on one side and PRP on the other, and reported equal improvement on both sides at 3 and 6 months [5]. Yen and colleagues (60 adults) and Huang and colleagues (6 adults) did not state a session interval in their abstracts, so their schedules are marked as not stated below [6, 7].
| Study | Procedure | Sessions | Interval | Follow-up after the last session |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kwon 2020 [3] | Fractional CO2 laser, exosome gel after each session | 3 | 3 weeks | To 12 weeks from the first session |
| Park GH 2023 [4] | Microneedling, exosome solution after each session | 3 | 3 weeks | To 12 weeks from the first session |
| Estupiñan 2025 [5] | Radiofrequency microneedling, topical exosomes on one side | 3 | 4 weeks | 3 and 6 months |
| Yen 2026 [6] | Radiofrequency microneedling, topical vesicle preparation | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Week 4 and week 12 |
| Huang 2026 [7] | Needling radiofrequency, plant-derived vesicle formulation | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | 1, 3 and 6 months |
| Evans 2021, PRP context [8] | Intradermal PRP around the eye, 19 studies pooled | Mean 3 (range 1 to 8) | Mean 23 days (range 14 to 56) | Mean 3 months (range 1 to 6) |
| El-Domyati 2015, microneedling alone [9] | Microneedling with no add-on | 6 | 2 weeks | Biopsies at 1 and 3 months |
Two patterns stand out. Every controlled exosome trial that stated an interval used three or four weeks, and the wider procedure literature, from the PRP meta-analysis to microneedling alone, spans two to eight weeks with a center near three [8, 9].
The interval follows the procedure that precedes the application
The exosome step in every trial above came immediately after a procedure that opened the skin, and the timing of that procedure sets the calendar. Gupta and colleagues measured barrier recovery after microneedle insertion in human volunteers in 2011 and reported that uncovered sites recovered within about 2 hours, while occluded sites resealed over 3 to 40 hours depending on needle geometry [10].
Kalluri and colleagues reported in a 2011 animal study that barrier function returned around 4 to 5 hours after roller microneedling and that pores closed by 12 to 18 hours depending on needle length [11]. Kelchen and colleagues compared 12 younger and 16 elderly volunteers in 2016 and reported significantly slower barrier restoration in the elderly group, which is one reason the application window varies between patients [12].
Fractional laser channels follow a similar clock. Banzhaf and colleagues imaged CO2 laser channels on the forearms of six volunteers in 2016 and reported that 20 to 40 percent remained open at 24 hours depending on energy, with re-epithelialization visible from day 2 [13]. Those hours define when a topical step can reach beyond the surface; the weeks between sessions come from a different process.
That process is dermal remodeling. Orringer and colleagues reported in 2004 that procollagen messenger RNA peaked 21 days after focal CO2 resurfacing of photodamaged forearms and stayed elevated for at least 6 months [14]. A three- to four-week interval would let one session’s synthesis peak before the next begins, an inference from that single-procedure study that the exosome trials do not give as their reason. The interval belongs to the laser or the needle, and the exosome material rides on it.
Recognizing what the evidence does not yet show
- No controlled trial compared one session interval against another, so there is no evidence that three weeks outperforms four, or that either outperforms a single session [1, 2]
- No controlled exosome trial used a weekly schedule, so weekly application remains untested
- No controlled study followed participants beyond 6 months after the last session, so maintenance intervals after a course have no published basis [5, 7]
- Two of the five controlled trials did not state their session interval in the abstract, and two enrolled 15 or fewer participants [5, 6, 7]
- The trials paired exosomes with different procedures and different vesicle sources, and Knauer and colleagues reported that commercial products carry minimal processing information, so a schedule from one study is evidence for that product and procedure only [17]
- Topical application without a preceding procedure has its own small literature, and none of it compares frequencies [17]
Those gaps are the reason a search for exosome treatment frequency returns such different answers, as the reviews reported [1]. The literature supports describing what each trial did, and little more.
Weekly application appears in no controlled facial trial
The question of whether exosomes can be done every week has a short published answer: the shortest interval in any controlled exosome trial located for this article is three weeks, and the shortest in the procedure literature cited here is the two-week microneedling schedule El-Domyati and colleagues used in ten participants in 2015 [3, 4, 9]. Even that study biopsied at 1 and 3 months and read its result in collagen laid down over months.
The FDA microneedling page notes that more than one procedure may be needed to see a change in appearance, and lists the risks of the devices themselves [19]. Whether a shorter interval suits a particular patient and procedure is a clinical judgment the practitioner makes, with the trials above as reference points rather than limits.
Maintenance sessions remain unstudied beyond the trial endpoints
Exosome maintenance sessions, the idea of a top-up after a course, sit outside every design cited here. The longest follow-up is 6 months, in the 15-person PRP comparison and the six-person needling radiofrequency pilot, and neither scheduled a further session after the course ended [5, 7].
Two observations bear on the question without answering it. Huang and colleagues reported sustained remodeling at 6 months on the vesicle side and rebound worsening on the side that received the procedure alone, in six people [7]. El-Domyati and colleagues wrote that multiple microneedling sessions are usually needed to maintain the improvement, a statement about the procedure alone [9].
Heterogeneity and nonstandardized protocols limit generalizability, in the words of the 2026 meta-analysis of 39 human exosome studies [1].
Hair studies ran on schedules measured in months
The scalp literature keeps a different calendar because the follicle cycle is long. Lee and colleagues followed 30 adults with androgenetic alopecia over 24 weeks in 2024 and reported a significant increase in total hair density at that endpoint [15].
Koumprentziotis and colleagues examined 20 adults with pattern hair loss by trichoscopy at 3, 6 and 9 months after microneedling radiofrequency with topical exosomes in 2025, with a median follow-up of 10 months and no adverse events reported [16]. Those visit schedules describe when the investigators looked, and the spacing of the scalp sessions themselves is a practitioner decision the single-arm designs cannot inform.
The practitioner sets the frequency and the practice records it
With no comparative trial of intervals, the schedule for a patient rests on the practitioner’s reading of the procedure, the skin and the trials above. A practice that records the procedure, the session dates, the interval and the lot number for each session builds a file it can read against the literature as new trials report.
- The procedure performed, its settings and the time between the procedure and the topical application
- The date of each session and the interval since the last, in days
- The lot number of the vial used, matched to its certificate of analysis
- Photographs at the visit points the trials used: week 4, week 12 and 6 months
- Any local reaction, with its duration, recorded against the lot
Each ExaVeyra vial carries its lot number, a certificate of analysis with serology exists for every lot, and the certificate, characterization panel and cold-chain records are available on request. Orders ship overnight frozen on dry ice and arrive in 1 to 3 business days, so a practice can match its session calendar to its stock.
Access works through a verified account. Anyone may ask the scientific team a question or apply without an NPI, NPI review takes 1 to 3 business days, and verification gives access to the practitioner portal, product documentation and pricing.
The published schedules are few, and that makes each new comparative trial valuable. A practice that keeps its session records in the same terms the trials use will be ready to read the first interval comparison the day it appears, and to explain its own schedule to patients with the same clarity.
Aviso Educativo: This article is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical or legal advice. It does not identify any material, compound, device setting or protocol as safe, effective or appropriate for any patient, and it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Questions about a treatment belong with the reader’s own licensed provider. Exosome material is supplied for topical aesthetic use by licensed practitioners. No exosome product is FDA-approved for any use, and ExaVeyra Sciences makes no statement about administration, route, or outcome. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. They are prepared by a 503A compounding pharmacy licensed by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for an individual patient against that patient’s prescription, and are available to NPI-verified licensed practitioners only, in the states where the pharmacy is licensed. Product, device and brand names mentioned are trademarks of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products discussed. Their mention is not an endorsement, and those owners have not reviewed or endorsed this article. ExaVeyra Sciences is a supplier and takes no part in any diagnosis, treatment decision, or plan of care. Findings described are attributed to the peer-reviewed literature, trial registries and agencies cited. The content of these guides is provided for general informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal, medical, or regulatory advice, and does not establish that any particular product or practice is compliant. Regulatory requirements vary by state and depend on the circumstances of each practice. Each practitioner should consult their own legal counsel and the applicable state licensing boards before acting on anything stated here.
Referencias
- 1.Stack ER, Spongberg C, Braud SC, Stanton WN, Elway M. Clinical Advances in Exosome-Based Therapies for Aesthetic Medicine: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Human Clinical Trials. Aesthet Surg J. 2026;46(12 Suppl 2):S13-S25. PMID 41800726. doi:10.1093/asj/sjaf178Systematic review and random-effects meta-analysis, searches to February 2025; 39 human studies, 26 on skin and 13 on hair. Carries in this article: the authors’ statement that heterogeneity and nonstandardized protocols limit generalizability, the reason no single session frequency can be read from the pooled 20.2 percent wrinkle reduction. Disclosure: published in a journal supplement on exosomes; no funding statement in the PubMed record.
- 2.Gaebe K, Lowe K, Bosnalie D, Khoury S, Villemure Poliquin N, Nichols A. Effectiveness and Safety of Extracellular Vesicle-Based Therapies for Nonsurgical Facial Rejuvenation: A Systematic Review. Facial Plast Surg Aesthet Med. 2026. Published online ahead of print. PMID 42487416. doi:10.1177/26893614261457879PRISMA systematic review with GRADE assessment, searches January 2000 to June 2025; 16 studies, 503 participants. Carries in this article: no serious adverse events were reported across the included studies, certainty was low or very low, and the authors concluded that short follow-up and inconsistent outcome assessment preclude definitive conclusions, which leaves maintenance schedules unstudied. Disclosure: academic authors (Canada); no conflict statement in the PubMed record.
- 3.Kwon HH, Yang SH, Lee J, Park BC, Park KY, Jung JY, et al. Combination Treatment with Human Adipose Tissue Stem Cell-derived Exosomes and Fractional CO2 Laser for Acne Scars: A 12-week Prospective, Double-blind, Randomized, Split-face Study. Acta Derm Venereol. 2020;100(18):adv00310. PMID 33073298. PMC9309822. doi:10.2340/00015555-3666Prospective, double-blind, randomized, split-face trial over 12 weeks in adults with acne scars (Korea); n = 25, three fractional CO2 laser sessions three weeks apart with an exosome gel on one side and a control gel on the other. Carries in this article: the three-week interval and the 12-week result of 32.5 percent scar-score reduction on the exosome side against 19.9 percent. Disclosure: the gels were supplied by the exosome manufacturer; the authors declared no conflicts of interest.
- 4.Park GH, Kwon HH, Seok J, Yang SH, Lee J, Park BC, et al. Efficacy of combined treatment with human adipose tissue stem cell-derived exosome-containing solution and microneedling for facial skin aging: A 12-week prospective, randomized, split-face study. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2023;22(12):3418-3426. PMID 37377400. doi:10.1111/jocd.15872Prospective, randomized, split-face study over 12 weeks (Korea); n = 28, three microneedling sessions three weeks apart with an exosome solution on one side and saline on the other. Carries in this article: the three-week interval, the higher global aesthetic score on the exosome side at 12 weeks and the absence of serious adverse events. Disclosure: National Research Foundation of Korea grants listed in the PubMed record.
- 5.Estupiñan B, Ly K, Goldberg DJ. Adipose Mesenchymal Stem Cell-Derived Exosomes Versus Platelet-Rich Plasma Treatment for Photoaged Facial Skin: An Investigator-Blinded, Split-Face, Non-Inferiority Trial. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2025;24(5):e70208. PMID 40414798. PMC12104007. doi:10.1111/jocd.70208Investigator-blinded split-face non-inferiority trial in adults with mild to moderate photoaging (USA); n = 15, three radiofrequency microneedling sessions four weeks apart with topical exosomes on one side and PRP on the other, assessed at 3 and 6 months. Carries in this article: the four-week interval and the equal improvement on both sides with increased collagen I on histology. Disclosure: the authors declared no conflicts of interest.
- 6.Yen C, Huang H, Lin C. Radiofrequency Microneedling Combined With Topical Extracellular Vesicle Preparation for Facial Rejuvenation: A Randomized Split-Face Controlled Study. J Craniofac Surg. 2026. Published online ahead of print. PMID 42635327. doi:10.1097/SCS.0000000000013266Randomized split-face study, unblinded; n = 60, radiofrequency microneedling on both sides with a topical vesicle preparation on one, assessed at baseline, week 4 and week 12. Carries in this article: the week-12 paired wrinkle-score difference of 3.32 points, local reactions that were transient and mostly mild, and the absence of a stated session interval in the abstract. Disclosure: the authors reported no conflicts of interest.
- 7.Huang PP, Chih PL, OuYang SY. Preliminary Insights From a Split-Face Study on Skin Quality Changes After Needling Radiofrequency With or Without a Plant-Derived Exosome-Based Formulation Over 6 Months. Aesthet Surg J. 2026;46(Suppl 2):S62-S72. PMID 41800727. doi:10.1093/asj/sjaf253Prospective split-face study with random side assignment; n = 6, needling radiofrequency on both sides and a plant-derived vesicle formulation on one, assessed at 1, 3 and 6 months. Carries in this article: sustained remodeling at 6 months on the vesicle side and rebound worsening on the procedure-only side, the one controlled observation that bears on maintenance. Disclosure: no funding statement in the PubMed record; the authors describe the findings as preliminary.
- 8.Evans AG, Ivanic MG, Botros MA, Pope RW, Halle BR, Glassman GE, et al. Rejuvenating the periorbital area using platelet-rich plasma: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Arch Dermatol Res. 2021;313(9):711-727. PMID 33433716. doi:10.1007/s00403-020-02173-zPRISMA systematic review and meta-analysis of PRP applied to the periorbital area, searches to June 2019; 19 studies, 455 patients. Carries in this article: a mean of 3 sessions (range 1 to 8) at mean intervals of 23 days (range 14 to 56) with follow-up averaging 3 months, the schedule the exosome trials echo. Disclosure: the authors call for future studies free of industry sponsors; registration CRD42019135968.
- 9.El-Domyati M, Barakat M, Awad S, Medhat W, El-Fakahany H, Farag H. Multiple microneedling sessions for minimally invasive facial rejuvenation: an objective assessment. Int J Dermatol. 2015;54(12):1361-1369. PMID 26096653. doi:10.1111/ijd.12761Prospective histological study, six microneedling sessions at 2-week intervals with biopsies at baseline and at 1 and 3 months (Egypt); n = 10. Carries in this article: the shortest interval in the procedure literature cited here, the collagen I, III and VII increases at 3 months, and the authors’ note that multiple sessions are usually needed to maintain the improvement. Disclosure: none stated in the PubMed record.
- 10.Gupta J, Gill HS, Andrews SN, Prausnitz MR. Kinetics of skin resealing after insertion of microneedles in human subjects. J Control Release. 2011;154(2):148-155. PMID 21640148. PMC3164267. doi:10.1016/j.jconrel.2011.05.021Electrical impedance study of barrier recovery after microneedle insertion in human volunteers, across needle geometries with and without occlusion. Carries in this article: uncovered sites recovered barrier properties within 2 hours, and occluded sites resealed over 3 to 40 hours depending on geometry, the reason a topical step follows the procedure at once rather than days later. Disclosure: NIH extramural support listed in the PubMed record.
- 11.Kalluri H, Kolli CS, Banga AK. Characterization of microchannels created by metal microneedles: formation and closure. AAPS J. 2011;13(3):473-481. PMID 21732220. PMC3160154. doi:10.1208/s12248-011-9288-3Laboratory characterization of roller microneedle channels in a hairless rat model, with transepidermal water loss and calcein imaging. Carries in this article: barrier function returned around 4 to 5 hours and pores closed by 12 hours for 370 micrometer needles and by 18 hours for 770 micrometer needles, an animal result that frames the human data. Disclosure: none stated in the PubMed record.
- 12.Kelchen MN, Siefers KJ, Converse CC, Farley MJ, Holdren GO, Brogden NK. Micropore closure kinetics are delayed following microneedle insertion in elderly subjects. J Control Release. 2016;225:294-300. PMID 26829102. doi:10.1016/j.jconrel.2016.01.051Pilot impedance study of micropore closure after microneedle insertion; 12 younger control subjects and 16 elderly subjects. Carries in this article: barrier restoration was significantly slower in the elderly group under occluded and non-occluded conditions, the reason closure times vary between patients and sit with the practitioner. Disclosure: non-US government research support listed in the PubMed record.
- 13.Banzhaf CA, Wind BS, Mogensen M, Meesters AA, Paasch U, Wolkerstorfer A, et al. Spatiotemporal closure of fractional laser-ablated channels imaged by optical coherence tomography and reflectance confocal microscopy. Lasers Surg Med. 2016;48(2):157-165. PMID 26266688. doi:10.1002/lsm.22386In vivo imaging study of fractional CO2 laser channels on the forearm of healthy volunteers; n = 6. Carries in this article: channels closed over the first 24 hours in an energy-dependent way, with 20 to 40 percent still open at 24 hours, and re-epithelialization visible from day 2, the time course that separates the application window from the next session. Disclosure: none stated in the PubMed record.
- 14.Orringer JS, Kang S, Johnson TM, Karimipour DJ, Hamilton T, Hammerberg C, et al. Connective tissue remodeling induced by carbon dioxide laser resurfacing of photodamaged human skin. Arch Dermatol. 2004;140(11):1326-1332. PMID 15545540. doi:10.1001/archderm.140.11.1326Serial biopsy study of photodamaged forearm skin after CO2 laser resurfacing in human volunteers. Carries in this article: procollagen messenger RNA peaked 21 days after the procedure and remained elevated for at least 6 months, the remodeling course inside which a three- to four-week interval sits. Disclosure: non-US government research support listed in the PubMed record.
- 15.Lee E, Choi MS, Cho BS, Won YJ, Lee JH, Kim SR, et al. The efficacy of adipose stem cell-derived exosomes in hair regeneration based on a preclinical and clinical study. Int J Dermatol. 2024;63(9):1212-1220. PMID 39155501. doi:10.1111/ijd.17406Laboratory study followed by a clinical study in adults with androgenetic alopecia over 24 weeks; n = 30. Carries in this article: a 24-week course with hair density as the endpoint, a longer frame than any facial trial. Disclosure: several authors share affiliations with the exosome developer; see the article for the full statement.
- 16.Koumprentziotis IA, Kroumpouzos E, Delavar S, Kroumpouzos G. Microneedling radiofrequency followed by topical exosome application therapy for pattern hair loss: A scoping review and prospective study. Clin Dermatol. 2025;43(5):742-751. PMID 40744280. doi:10.1016/j.clindermatol.2025.07.006Scoping review plus a prospective single-arm series of adults with pattern hair loss; n = 20, trichoscopy at baseline and at 3, 6 and 9 months, median follow-up 10 months. Carries in this article: assessment spaced in months rather than weeks, and no adverse events reported. Disclosure: the authors declared no financial interests.
- 17.Knauer G, Chang A, Gupta A, Brownstone N, Mejia N, Bauman S, et al. Clinical Evidence and Commercial Landscape of Topical Exosomes for Skin Rejuvenation: A Scoping Review. Aesthet Surg J. 2026;46(11):NP148-NP157. PMID 42411735. doi:10.1093/asj/sjag141Scoping review of 18 human studies plus a market survey of 20 commercial cosmetic exosome products. Carries in this article: ten studies paired exosomes with a delivery procedure and eight used topical application alone, and the products carried minimal information on isolation, processing or shelf life, so a schedule from one study is evidence for that product and procedure only. Disclosure: academic authors (USA); no conflict statement in the PubMed record.
- 18.U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Public Safety Notification on Exosome Products. December 6, 2019 (content current as of 12/06/2019; verified 4 November 2026). https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/public-safety-notification-exosome-productsAgency safety notification (CBER). Carries in this article: the statement that there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products, and that exosomes used to treat diseases and conditions in humans are regulated as drugs and biological products.
- 19.U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Microneedling Devices. Content current as of 10/15/2025; verified 4 November 2026. https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/aesthetic-cosmetic-devices/microneedling-devicesAgency device information page (CDRH). Carries in this article: microneedling devices are authorized to improve the appearance of facial acne scars, facial wrinkles and abdominal scars in patients aged 22 or older, the page states they are not approved for delivery of cosmetics, topical medications, drugs or blood products into the skin, and it notes that more than one procedure may be needed.